Grade 10 Reflections on Bamfield

Bamfield, BC

Bamfield, BC

While the Grade 8 Mini’s are heading off to Gailiano Island this week, the Grade 10 Mini Students recently returned from a fabulous experience in beautiful Bamfield, BC.  In reflecting on the learning experiences and memorable moments shared during the trip, the energy in the class was one of joy and enthusiasm (even on a drizzly Monday morning!)  Here is a sample of some of the most memorable moments and learning experiences during the trip…

Caving

Caving

A dark silent cavern, damp and cool.  With only our slow footsteps working time and the dim lights from our headlamps guiding us, we reached it.  There, among the glittering calcite structures, we stood before a waterfall.  Imagine that, a waterfall within a cave.  I certainly didn’t until that moment.  Yet there it was, gently running from a hole in the rock ceiling, only to leave through a crack in the floor meters away.  I could only see a small glimpse of its full length, the rest being left to my imagination… -Ryan

The Catch

The Catch

To say I enjoyed myself in Bamfield would be an understatement, even through the seasickness and rain.  I’ve never been fishing before, let along salmon fishing on a boat.  Early in the morning, just after we set out, a fish caught on the line.  Since we were taking turns reeling in the fish, it was my job to catch it.  This fish definitely put up a fight, and my muscles starting burning like I was actually engulfed in flames.  Although it seemed like centuries, it was only about twenty minutes later when I pulled up the biggest salmon that I’ve ever seen!  The amount of pride I felt is indescribable, especially since it was the first salmon I’ve ever caught, and one of the two largest catches on the entire trip. –Isla

009

My favourite part of the trip was the last night gathered around the campfire, playing “star-tipping” with the class.  Under the soft, white light of the cool moon, with the smell of pine trees and campfire smoke around us, that was when I really felt like we were not only a class – but a family.  As we spun around, it was like we were flying.  I felt dizzy, then fell down, but there was always someone to catch me… Nights like these are what Mini School is all about.  -Sandra

Hiking by the Sea

Hiking by the Sea

Bamfield was by far my favourite mini school trip.  Everyone in the class bonded and had a great time, despite the rain.  I’ll never forget the sun finally coming out and our boat (Steven, Nathan, Andi, Vanessa, and I) fishing for cod when a whale breached right beside us!  Then, when we were salmon fishing, everyone fell asleep except me, but the amount of fish we caught made up for it!  I personally bonded with an unexpected group of people while we were caving so that is probably my highlight. -Mikaela

Class of '15

Class of ’15

The most memorable moment in Bamfield was when I caught my very first salmon.  I’ve gone salmon fishing before and I’ve hooked many, but they’ve all escaped.  When Jeff, our fishing guide, hooked the salmon, it was my turn to reel it in.  When I was reeling, it was like there was a whale at the end of the line.  My arms and shoulders were burning.  The rod was bending so much it was an upside down U.  After about ten to fifteen minutes of fighting, I saw a fin; it was the dorsal fin.  Suddenly, all of my energy returned and I was reeling the fish with renewed strength.  When it was close to the boat, Jeff got the salmon into the net and that’s when I saw its full size.  It was huge!  I was so ecstatic that after years of trying, I had finally caught my first salmon.  Now my Dad can’t tease me anymore about having never caught a salmon!  -Fiona

Fiona's Catch :)

Fiona’s Catch 🙂

My most memorable moment was catching my first salmon.  The moment I felt it bite my hook my skin started tingling.  Reeling it in was like playing tug-of-war with a tractor.  It felt like my shoulder was going to be ripped out of its socket.  Back-and-forth, back-and-forth… the pain made minutes feel like hours.  I could feel the fish fighting for its life; I was waiting for it to give up.  Suddenly, I felt the fight stop.  There is no sweeter victory than the feeling I had when I finally hauled it into the boat.  –Graham

Making Fish and Chips!

Making Fish and Chips!

My most memorable moment during the Bamfield trip was in one of the caves when we turned out our headlamps everyone spontaneously broke into song… Bamfield was the best trip so far and was a fantastic experience to share with the Mini School family.  The view from the cabin was amazing and in spite of the fact that we were up at four in the morning to go salmon fishing, it was worth it to be able to see the sun rise on the horizon.  We were surrounded by peace and quiet wilderness and forever-memorable experiences.  -Megan 

Bamfield was a very exciting and memorable experience with a number of memorable moments.  But, one moment that sticks out from the rest.  On the first day in the afternoon, I caught an absolutely humungous salmon.  It was actually a fifteen pounder… When I caught the salmon I was in awe of its size and scales.  It was like winning the lottery, I felt very lucky – especially considering we caught more fish than the grade 11s J -Arjun

Hanging out at the Lodge

Hanging out at the Lodge

Bamfield was an amazing trip full of learning experiences and moments that put a smile on my face.  One of the most important things I can take away from this trip was that our Mini Class of ’15 is a family and everyone is there with open arms…  -Emma

Heading Home: Combs, BC

Heading Home: Combs, BC

In Bamfield I learned to step up and persevere in times of dire desperation.  The gloving embers of the dying bonfire were slowing fading.  A thick smoke smothered the air and each breath forced a cough from my lungs.  Heat was seeping from my body and all hope seemed lost.  Slowing but surely, Fleming and I harvested flame from the dying ashes.  Peace was restored; the people would live to see another day.  –Andi

For more pictures, see the gallery below (photos courtesy of Olivia and Fiona – thank you!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Please consult the "Contact Us" page for questions and concerns.

